Parts of Medicare

What does each part of Medicare cover?

Medicare is divided into multiple parts to fit the coverage needs of each individual and their specific needs. To ensure you receive the right coverage, Temmen Insurance breaks down the different parts of Medicare.

Part A

Medicare Part A is hospital insurance and covers inpatient care in a hospital, skilled nursing facility care, nursing home care, hospice care, and home health care.

Part B

Medicare Part B is medical insurance and covers medically necessary services and preventive screening services. This includes clinical research, ambulance services, durable medical equipment, mental health care, and limited outpatient prescription drugs.

Medicare Advantage Plans

Medicare Advantage Plans are from private companies approved by Medicare to manage your Part A and Part B coverage. With these plans, you get the same benefits as Original Medicare, with the added options for coverage extending to hearing, vision, dental, and prescription drug coverage.

Part D Prescription Drug Plans

Prescription drug plans are standardized to include at least two prescription drugs in each of the most commonly prescribed categories. Part D plans are required to cover virtually all drugs in six categories: antidepressants, antipsychotics, anticonvulsants, antiretrovirals (AIDS treatment), immunosuppressants, and anticancer.

Medicare Supplement (Medigap) Plans

Medigap plans cover a portion or all of your costs from Medicare Part A and Part B. These can include your Part A deductible, Part B deductible, coinsurance, copayments, and your first three pints of blood needed for medical procedures. Six Medigap plans offer coverage for foreign travel, which is not covered under Original Medicare.

Recent Posts